About the Golden Pen of Freedom
The Golden Pen of Freedom is WAN-IFRA's annual award recognising individuals or organisations that have made an outstanding contribution to the defence and promotion of press freedom.

Established in 1961, the Golden Pen of Freedom is presented each year at the opening ceremony of the World Newspaper Congress and World Editors Forum.  Behind the names of the laureates lie stories of extraordinary personal courage and self-sacrifice, stories of jail, of beatings, of bombings, of censorship, of exile and of murder.


Golden Pen of Freedom
Laureates (2000-2010)

2010     Ahmad Zeidabadi, Iran
2009     Najam Sethi, Friday Times, Pakistan
2008     Li Changqing, Fuzhou Daily, China
2007     Shi Tao, China
2006     Akbar Ganji, Iran
2005     Mahjoub Mohamed Salih, Al-Ayam
2004     Ruslan Sharipov, Uzbekistan
2003     Belarusian Association of Journalists,
2002     Geoffrey Nyarota, The Daily News,
2001     Joint Laureates U Win Tin
            & San San Nweh, Burma
2000     Nizar Nayouf, Syria


Golden Pen of Freedom